Privacy starts with the join code. Every group, topic, and video response has a join code, which defaults to random numbers and letters. This join code also creates a link. As an educator, you can decide who to share the join code or link with.

Permissions provides educators with the security they need. Educators select one of three different Permission types during setup and students must log in with the correct information to open the topic:

  1. Student Emails - Students enter the join code or link provided by their educator and join using Microsoft or Google accounts.
    • Important: For join codes and join links, students should be added by their educators with their Microsoft or Google emails to access the group or topic. For shareable links, students can immediately access or have to ask for request depending on the educator's settings.
  2. Student Usernames - Students enter the join code or link or shareable link and include their student username, which is created and assigned by their educator.
  3. Guest Password - Educators can invite family, peers, or other communities to join a topic by entering a password once they've opened the join code or link. 

Moderate videos for additional privacy. Educators can choose to moderate videos, which defaults videos to remain hidden from anyone else on the topic. The educators can choose to make them visible or keep them hidden.

Educators own and control student content. Flip will never advertise to students or share information with third-party marketers. At any time, educators can edit, download, and permanently delete student content. Deleting content is permanent and can't be undone. We abide by the Student Privacy Pledge, which pledges us to “Not collect, maintain, use or share student personal information beyond that needed for authorized educational or school purposes.”

Learn more about privacy, COPPA, FERPA, GDPR, and other legal questions.


Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support