Are student videos private?

Group educators control student access as well as the visibility of each student's video within a topic.  Group educators have a number of options to make sure student videos are only seen between the educator and their students.

Join codes

Every topic or group has a unique join code, with 8 random numbers and letters. This join code also creates a link that educators can share with students. As the educator, you decide who you share the join code or link with and if needed, the educator can remove or block students from a group

Access 

In addition to the join code, educators select one of four different access types during setup. Students and participants must log in using the access type for the group to join the topic. Access types are: 

  1. Email - Students enter the join code or link and join using Microsoft or Google accounts. Only those with a Microsoft or Google email that matches the educator's approved emails can open the topic. 
  2. Usernames - Students enter the join code or link and input their username, which is created and assigned by the educator. 
  3. Guest Password - Educators can invite family, peers, or other communities to join a topic by entering a password once they've opened the join code or link. 
  4. Invite by link - Educators can create groups and invite students with a link that can be shared with anyone or select people. Educators can share a link for new and existing groups.

Approve student activity (Submit to Educator)

Group educators can choose to approve student activity on their topics. This means videos are only visible to the educator and hidden to all other group students. The educator can choose to make those visible or keep them hidden.

Student Privacy Pledge

Flip's privacy terms already outline our industry-leading privacy and security commitments supported by the team at Microsoft. We are used by educators and community leaders throughout the world and the privacy of your students' data is very important to us.  including COPPA and FERPA student privacy laws. We do not sell student data or share it with any marketers. At any time, Group educators can delete a student video and it is permanently deleted. We abide by the Student Privacy Pledge, which pledges us to “Not collect, maintain, use or share student personal information beyond that needed for authorized educational/school purposes.”


Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support