Add students from Google Classroom

If you use Google Classroom, you can sync your Classroom roster with Flip to grant your students access to your Flip groups. You don’t have to enter your students’ emails or usernames. You can only sync a Classroom through Flip on your desktop, you won’t be able to on the Flip app.

Note: You can only sync 500 students from Classroom at a time.

  1. Add a Google Classroom to a Flip group
  2. Add a Google account through integrations
  3. Change the Google Class to a Flip group
  4. Add or remove students from the group
  5. Integration with Google Classroom

Add a Google Classroom to a Flip group

  1. Go to admin.flip.com.
  2. Choose whether you want to create a new group or add members to an existing group.
    • To add a new group, click +Group.
    • To add members to an existing group, select the group. Then, in the top right, click More More.png  > Edit group Edit_pencil.png.
  3. Scroll and click Google Classroom > Continue with Google.
  4. In the “Sign in with Google” window, select the account you use for your Google Classroom.
  5. Review the privacy prompt. Then, to grant Flip access to your Classroom, click Allow.
  6. On your Flip group settings page, under “Class,” select a class from the drop down menu.
  7. Click Save changes.

After you sync the Classroom with the group, you can share the group or its topics.

Add your Google account through integrations

You can integrate your Google Classroom through integrations on Flip profile.

  1. Go to admin.flip.com.
  2. At the top right, click your Profile photo bubble Profile_bubble.png > Settings Settings.png.
  3. Click Integrations.
  4. Under "Google Classroom Roster," click Continue with Google.
  5. In the "Sign in with Google" window, select the account you use for your Google Classroom.
  6. Review the privacy prompt. Then, to grant Flip access to your Classroom, click Allow.

Change the Google Class to a Flip group

Important: The synced Classroom won’t change until you save your changes to your group. Logging out of your Google Account on Flip won’t update the group until you save your changes.

  1. Go to admin.flip.com.
  2. At the top right click More More.png  > Edit group Edit_pencil.png.
  3. Scroll and click Google Classroom.
  4. From the drop down menu, select the new class you want to sync with this group.
    • If the class you want to sync is under a different Google Account, click Log out. Then, sign in with the different account.
  5. Click Save changes.

If you want to stop using Google Classroom, you can try a different way to add members.

Add or remove students from the group

You can add or remove enrolled students from the Google Classroom roster and then sync the changes to the Flip group. This will allow or deny those students access to the group.

Important: When you remove students from your Classroom roster, you only remove their access from the group. The removed students' videos are still available to view and their names remain in the members list.

  1. Go to classroom.google.com.
  2. Select the class roster you want and edit it.
  3. Go to admin.flip.com.
  4. Select the group associated with the recently edited Google Classroom roster.
  5. Click the “Members” tab. Then to update the list of students, click Sync Roster.

If the “Sync Roster” button doesn’t show up, it might be because:

  • You aren’t signed into the correct Google Classroom. Go to the group’s settings and make sure that you're signed in to the correct Google Classroom account and that you chose the correct class.
  • The student never joined/enrolled in the Google Class. If the student hasn’t accepted the invitation to join the Class, then you won’t be able to add or remove them from the group with “Sync Roster”.

Integration with Google Classroom

Currently, Google Classroom only has limited integration with Flip. Some of the features that are integrated with Flip include:

Some of the features that are not yet fully integrated include:

  • When you review assignments, video submissions can only be opened in Flip.
  • Co-teachers in the Google Class won't have access to the Flip group or its topics. Instead, to grant them access, add teachers as co-leads of the group.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support