Choose who can join with your group link

Leads can share their groups with a link that lets anyone or select people join. You can change your group link before and after you create a group. You can select between “Anyone with the link can join” and “Only people you approve can join.” 

Important: To have the option to limit members who can join your group, you must select "Only people you approve" in your group details under "Link." Learn more about who can join your group with the two available link options.

Select a link option for a new group

Web Mobile

You can select between “Anyone with the link can join” and “Only people you approve can join:"

  1. Go to admin.flip.com. 
  2. To create a group, on the top right, click +Group. 
  3. Name your group and edit your theme. 
  4. If you like, invite members with an email or Google Classroom account.  
  5. To generate your link, click Create Group.  
  6. To share the link: 
    • On social media: Click Share Share.png. 
    • With a link: Click Copy link. 
    • On other platforms: At the bottom, click any of the icons. 
  7. To change your link’s permissions, under “Copy Link,” click Change. You can modify your link so that: 
    • Only people you approve can join: You’ll receive a notification to approve requests to join. 
    • Anyone with the link can join: Your link can be shared so that anyone who clicks can join. 

Important: Your link is set by default so that only people you approve can join. 
 

Change a link for an existing group

Web Mobile

To change access to your existing group’s shareable link, follow these steps.  

  1. Go to admin.flip.com. 
  2. Select a group. 
  3. Click Share Share.png. 
  4. To share the link: 
    • On social media: Tap Share Share.png. 
    • Anywhere you like: Click Copy link and share with anyone. 
    • On other platforms: At the bottom, click any of the icons. 
  5. To change your link’s permissions, under “Copy Link,” click Change. You can modify your shareable link so that: 
    • Only people you approve can join: You’ll receive a notification to approve requests to join. 
    • Anyone with the link can join: Your link can be shared so that anyone who clicks can join. 
       

 

Block members from joining your group

You can always block specific members after they request to join or access your group. You’ll take these steps from your Activity feed Activity.png or the group of your choice. 

  1. Go to admin.flip.com. 
  2. When someone requests to join or accesses your link, you’ll receive a notification.  
  3. Click on the notification or click on a group.  
  4. Click Member Members.png. 
  5. Next to a member’s name, click X.png. 
  6. Click Block member.
     

Refresh your link

  1. To get a new link URL, under “Invite Link,” tap Refresh Link.
  2. To confirm, tap Refresh Link.
    • Important: Once you confirm, your previous link will stop working and you’ll have to share the new link with anyone you want to invite to your group.

Who can join your group with your link

Depending on the link you select, members will access your groups differently. 

Only people you approve can join
  • Email: Member will click the link they receive through email or enter the join code included at the end of the link. 
  • Domain: Member will have to receive the link directly from you and have access if their email domain matches what you've included.
  • Google Classroom: Member will receive the link to join through the email they used to sign up for Google Classroom. They will find the Flip group link in their Google Classroom. 
  • Social sharing: Once you've created your group, if you share your link through Google Classroom, an embed code, Teams, Remind, or Twitter, members will be able to click the link and join only if they've been added through email, domain, or Google Classroom.
  • Request to join: Potential members who haven't been added to your group, have the opportunity to click "Send request." You’ll receive a notification to "Add" or "Decline" their request. 
Anyone with the link can join

This option allows anyone with the link to view and participate in your group.

Important: When you select this option, you'll still be able to invite members with an email, or Google Classroom. This simply means that members will receive their invitation directly to their email or on Google Classroom. Anyone with the link will still be able to join your group.


Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support