Leads can share their groups with a link that lets anyone or select people join. You can change your group link before and after you create a group. You can select between “Anyone with the link can join” and “Only people you approve can join.” 

Important: To have the option to limit members who can join your group, you must select "Only people you approve."

Set up access for your group's link

Web Browser Mobile Application

You can select between “Anyone with the link can join” and “Only people you approve can join:"

  1. Go to info.flip.com and log in.
  2. On the left, click Add__Plus_in_square_.png Group > Group__empty_.png Create a group.
  3. Select a group type. 
  4. Name your group and select your cover image. 
  5. Click Create.
  6. Under "Invite link," click "edit" to customize the name of your invite link.
    • Important: If you enter a name that's already in use, you must enter a different one.
  7. To change your link’s permissions, select: 
    • Only people you approve can join: You’ll receive a notification to approve requests to join. 
    • Anyone with the link can join: Your link can be shared so that anyone who clicks can join. 
  8. When you're ready to share your link, click Copy. Then, paste the link on social media, in an email, or in a direct message.

Important: Your link is set by default so that only people you approve can join. 
 

Change access to a link for an existing group

Web Browser Mobile Application

To change access to your existing group’s link, follow these steps.  

  1. Go to info.flip.com and log in.
  2. At the left, in your Groups home, select a group. 
  3. At the bottom right of your group's cover image, click Share.png Share.
  4. To change your link’s permissions, select: 
    • Only people you approve can join: You’ll receive a notification to approve requests to join. 
    • Anyone with the link can join: Your link can be shared so that anyone who clicks can join. 
  5. When you're ready to share your link, click Copy.
     

Customize or refresh your group's link

After you create a group, you can refresh your link with new randomly selected characters or customize it with characters of your choice.

If you customize your join code, it must follow these guidelines:

  • Contain 4-32 characters.
  • Contain alphanumeric characters only.
  • Be unique.
Web Browser Mobile Application
  1. Go to info.flip.com and log in.
  2. On the left, in your Groups home, select a group you own as a lead.
    • Tip: You can find the label "Lead" or "Member" at the top right of a group's cover image. 
  3. At the bottom right of your group's cover image, click Share.png Share. 
  4. Next to "Invite link," click Edit.
  5. You can:  
    • Refresh your link: Next to "Deactivate and create a new link," tap Refresh Link. 
    • Customize your link: Point your cursor to the link's characters and join code and change to words or numbers of your choice. 
      • Important: If the join code is taken or doesn't meet the character guidelines, you get an error message. If your join code meets the guidelines, the "Save" button becomes clickable. 
  6. Click Save

Related articles


Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support