Update or delete your account

You’re able to update the account you use to sign in, create or change a Flip specific password, or delete your account.

Important: You’re only able to change your account settings or delete your account on Flip.com. Currently, there’s no option to update these settings on the Flip app.

Update the email account you use to sign in

You’re able to change with which email account you want to sign in. When you change emails, you should still have access to and control over all content both you and your topic members created. To change the email, you must have a Flip specific password.

A few restrictions may apply when you attempt to change email accounts:

  • The email you want to change to must not already be associated with a Flip account. If you already have an account for that email, Flip won’t allow you to update to that email.
  • If you’re an educator who uses an email with a school domain (@school.edu), there may be restrictions on some content when you change email sign in. Learn how to change your email from a school domain.

Step 1: Create or update your Flip password

If you need to create or reset your password, you must have access to the email you used to sign in to Flip.

Important: If you already set up and remember your Flip password, you can skip this step.

  1. Go to admin.flip.com.
  2. In the top right, click your Profile photo bubble Profile_bubble.png > Settings Settings.png.
  3. Scroll to “Password,” and click password reset email.
  4. Open the email you currently use to sign in to Flip.
  5. Open an email from Flip titled “Reset your password.” In the email, click Reset my Password.
  6. In the tab that opens, follow the password requirements to create a new password.

Step 2: Change your sign in email

Important: To complete the change, you must have access to the new email that you want to change to.

  1. Go to admin.flip.com.
  2. In the top right, click your Profile photo bubble Profile_bubble.png > Settings Settings.png.
  3. Scroll to "Email."
  4. In the "Current Password" text box, enter your Flip password.
  5. In the "New email address" text box, enter the email you want to change to.
  6. Click Change Email.
  7. To confirm your new email address, go to your new email's inbox and open an email from Flip titled "Please confirm your account."
  8. Click Confirm my Email.
    • If the change is successful, a tab opens that says “Email Confirmed.” 

Notes:

  • If you sign out of Flip after you changed emails, make sure to sign in with the new email account. You’re no longer able to use the old email to sign in to Flip.
  • If your email change fails, submit a support request. Make sure to include both the email you currently use to sign in and the new email you want to change to.
Change your sign in email from a school domain

To change the email you use to sign in to Flip from a school domain to a personal or different school domain, follow these steps:

  1. Go to our Contact us form.
  2. Include your name and email address.
    • Important: If you still have access, include the school domain email you want to change from so we can verify your identity. This is for your security and the security of your member videos.
  3. Under "How can we help you?" select Account - I need help accessing my account.
  4. Under "Describe your problem here," include details on the school domain you'd like to change from and your new email. If possible, include any account information like join codes and names of groups or topics in your school domain account.
  5. Click Submit
  6. Ask your school's administrator to send us a Contact us form with this information:
    • State that you have permission to transfer your Flip account and all associated member videos to your new email address. 
    • Verify who you are.

Important: Educators using Flip under their school domain account agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy for their students as representatives for their school district.

 

Delete your account

If you delete your account, it's permanent and cannot be undone. Here are the other effects of account deletion:

  • Permanently deletes any groups, topics, videos, Mixtapes, and Shorts you created.
  • Member can still find their videos on their "My videos" page. However, any videos posted to topics created by a deleted account are removed from the topic. All comments on the video from that topic are deleted.
  • If you added co-leads for a group or topic you created, they no longer have access.
  1. Go to admin.flip.com.
  2. In the top right, click your Profile photo bubble Profile_bubble.png > Settings Settings.png.
  3. Scroll to "Delete Account." Then click the "Delete Account" button.
  4. In the "Delete Account" window:
    1. Check the boxes to acknowledge you understand what happens when you delete your account.
    2. In the "Email Address" text box, enter you email for this account.
    3. (Optional) Select a reason why you want to delete your account.
  5. Click Yes, delete account.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support