Students: Use a school email address to sign up to Flip

To keep Flip safe, students should sign up and join groups with a school email address. 

Important: If you're an existing member and can't access your groups anymore, this means you need to sign in with a school email.

Existing members: Sign in with your school email

If you received a message asking if you're a student, that means you tried to sign in with a personal email. To join a group or topic, make sure you sign in with a school email.

Important: Before you sign in with a school email, sign out of the account connected to your personal email. 

Desktop Mobile

Step 1: Sign out of your personal email

  1. Go to my.flip.com.
  2. At the top right, click your Profile photo bubble Profile_bubble.png.
  3. Click Sign out. 

Step 2: Sign in with your school email 

To join a group or topic, use a join option. Your educator can give you up to three join options: a Group join code, a join link, or a Flip QR. 

  1. Go to my.flip.com. 
  2. Use one of the three join options: 
    • Group join code: At the bottom, enter the code. 
    • Join link: Click the link given by your educator. 
    • Flip QR: In the lower right, click the QR QR_code.png and use your computer’s camera to scan it. To let Flip use your camera, click Allow. 
  3. To join the group or topic, you can choose a Google or Microsoft email as provided by your school. 
  4. To send videos or comments, click on a topic > Add response.

New members: Sign up with your school email

Desktop Mobile

1. Go to my.flip.com. 

2. At the top right, click Signup.

3. Choose Sign in with a different email.

4. Include your school email address. 

5. To start using Flip, include your birthdate and country or region.

 

Download or delete your previously posted videos

  • If you have access to my.flip.com: You can always download or delete your videos.
  • If you no longer have access to my.flip.com with your personal email: You can download or delete them with your lead. If you still need help, reach out to support

Important: When you delete your Flip videos, all videos you've posted to groups and my.flip.com are permanently deleted. 

How to download your videos

  1. On a browser, go to my.flip.com. 
    • Tip: Make sure you’re logged in to the account you used to create your videos. 
  2. At the top right, click your Profile photo bubble Profile_bubble.png.
  3. Click Download All Data > Request Download
  4. In your email, you’ll get a link with all your videos and other data. 
    • Important: This can take some time. 

How to reach out to support

  1. Go to our Contact us form.
  2. Include your first name, last name, and email address.
  3. Include a subject line. For example, "Delete Flip videos" or "Download your previously posted videos."
  4. Under "What can we help with?" select Other.
  5. Describe more details about why you'd like to delete your account data.
  6. Optional: Attach any files associated to your request.
  7. Select Submit.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support